Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
USD 298 Lincoln Board Members Leading for Success
Norma Kobbeman
Wednesday, January 15, 2020

January is School Board Recognition Month, a great opportunity to say thank you to the USD 298 Lincoln Board of Education who are committed to the success of every student in our community. 

Our board of education includes David Bell, Monty Breneman, Jeana Eckhart, TJ Jonsson, Patti Winters, Rhonda Wright and Deborah Zachgo.  New board members taking office on January 13, 2020, are Bree McReynolds-Baetz and John Buttenhoff, replacing Monty Breneman and Rhonda Wright. 

These seven community leaders have volunteered hundreds of hours attending meetings, reading reports and discussing plans and programs to support educational achievement. 

“Our board members develop policies and make complex decisions that shape the future of our education system. They are accountable for an annual General Fund and LOB budget of $4,258,609 million, 295 students, 77 employees (including housing 16 Special Education employees), and four buildings and facilities,” said Dr. Betty Summers, Interim Superintendent. 

A board member’s responsibility goes far behind the monthly meeting, however.

“They also meet with legislators, Board of Education school leaders, educational experts/consultants, and other policy makers to advocate for our schools to make sure every child has access to an excellent education. We are grateful to have this opportunity to formally say ‘thank you’ to each of them,” said Dr. Summers.

USD 298 Lincoln encourages the entire community to thank a school board member, not only this month but throughout the entire year.